RSS Feed

top 10 albums of 2008…and honorable mentions

Hello!  So, once again it’s been a while.

The Hype machine is a great website to find new music. It is an mp3 aggregator…basically it follows a lot of music blogs, staying up to date with the lastet music. Anyhow, they are doing a best albums of 2008 by asking everyone to submit their own blog posts and then they are going to come up with a list based on everyone’s posts. So here is my list:

1. MGMT – Oracular Spectacular

mgmt

I’m feeling rough, I’m feeling raw, I’m in the prime of my life.
Let’s make some music, make some money, find some models for wives.
I’ll move to Paris, shoot some heroin, and fuck with the stars.
You man the island and the cocaine and the elegant cars.

2. Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes

On the way to your brother’s house in the valley, dear,
By the river bridge a cradle floating beside me.
In the whitest water on the banks against the stone
You will lift his body from the shore and bring him home

3. Girl Talk – Feed the Animals

4. She & Him – She & Him: Volume I

Why don’t you sit right down and stay awhile?
We like the same things and I like your style
Its not a secret; why do you keep it
?
I’m just sitting on the shelf

5. Kings of Leon – Only By the Night


with the fire in my bones
and the sweet taste of kerosene
i get lost in the night so high don’t wanna come down
to face the loss of the good thing that i have found

6. Lil Wayne – The Carter III

Shorty want a thug
Bottles in the club
Shorty want to hump
You know I like to touch
Your lovely lady lumps

7. Kathleen Edwards – Asking for Flowers

You’re the buffet,I’m just the table.
I’m a Ford Temple,you’re a Maserati.
You’re The Great One, I’m Marty McSorley.
You’re the Concord, I’m economy.
I make the dough, but you get the glory.

8. Colin Meloy – Sings Live!

An ankle, an earlobe, an elbow bone
It’s weird how it wonderful grows
And it was only me and you
That made this three come out of two
My darling, what wonder have we wrought here?
It’s weird and it’s wonderful, dear

9. Vampire Weekend – Vampire Weekend

In the afternoon
You’re out on the stone and grass
And I’m sleeping on the balcony
After class

10. Death Cab for Cutie – Narrow Stairs

Cath, it seems that you live in someone else’s dream
In a hand-me-down wedding dress
Where the things that could have been are oppressed
But you said your vows, and you closed the door
On so many men who would have loved you more

Honorable Mentions:

Mates of State – Re-arrange Us

Crystal Castles – Crystal Castles

John Legend – Evolver

Copeland – You Are My Sunshine

Dear and the Headlights – Drunk Like Bible Times

Ray LaMontagne – Gossip in the Rain

The Weepies – Hideaway

The Duke Spirit – Neptune

Jimmy Eat World – Bleed American (2CD deluxe edition re-release)

Be Your Own Pet – Get Awkward

The Evangelicals – The Evening Descends

Santogold – Santogold


So, what’s your top 10 of 2008?

Leave a Reply

